Recently, I launched a Geekflare Tools tool, which is hosted in AWS behind Cloudflare. I am using the AWS application load balancer and Nginx as a web server. After making life, I went to see the access.log and noticed all requests were marked as coming from internal (load balancer) IP. This is not good if you want to analyze your web server logs for visitor locations. I realized that I am missing or need to do some configuration changes to restore the client IP. Are you in the same situation as I was? Well, here is how you can get the client IP in your Nginx access logs.

Getting Visitor IP from AWS or Google Cloud LB

Login to your Nginx webserver Go to the path where it’s installed (default location /etc/nginx) Take a backup of nginx.conf file Add the following under HTTP block

Restart the Nginx, and you should see the visitor’s IP in your access.log file

If you are behind Cloudflare, then you will see their IP instead of the client’s IP, so you got to do the below as well.

Getting Client IP from Cloudflare

Cloudflare is a great CDN and Security provider, and I absolutely love it. If you are using Cloudflare like me and would like to restore the visitor IP in the web server log, then here is how you can do it. Assuming you are logged into the Nginx server Take a backup of your site configuration file (usually here – /etc/nginx/sites-available/yourdomain) Add the following at the beginning of the file Note: You may want to validate the IP list from their official page. Restart Nginx, and you should see the client IP now. This has helped me, and I hope you too. Next, find out how you can implement secure headers using Cloudflare Workers.